University Economic Development Association


Internship Draft Day

Award Category: Talent
Project Site: Internship Draft Day
Submitted By: Northeast Wisconsin Educational Resource Alliance
Contact: Linda Bartelt, 920.609.6399

Case Study

Internship Draft Day is an innovative college talent program focused on the recruiting and hiring of student interns. This unique event, now in its fourth year, connects college students to hundreds of internship opportunities with businesses in northeast Wisconsin. The program is based on a strategic partnership between the Northeast Wisconsin Educational Resource Alliance (New Era – and the Northeast Wisconsin Manufacturing Alliance (New MA – The strategic partners – New Era, is an alliance of publicly supported higher education institutions whose mission is to drive educational attainment for the betterment of the 1.2 million people who live and work in the region. New MA is an alliance of over 190 manufacturers working with educators, workforce development, and state organizations to promote manufacturing. The vision of the Alliance is that every northeast Wisconsin manufacturer will find the talent it needs. The legendary home of the Green Bay Packers, Lambeau Field brings the spirit of competition and leadership to Internship Draft Day as students compete through interviews and networking for internships. In a special closing ceremony, Mark Murphy, CEO of the Green Bay Packers, announces the top draft picks – students who have earned points for their interview effectiveness, hard work and professionalism. Scholarships are awarded to the number one and two overall draft picks and businesses are recognized for their commitment to student success. Each student takes home an official Game Day jersey.

Internship Draft Day ( is one of the most unique and distinctive internship recruiting events in the state of Wisconsin.See Internship Draft Day up close from one of our sponsors – Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC)

Finalist Presentation

UEDA Awards of Excellence Finalists presented at the Annual Summit in Milwaukee on October 22 and 23, 2018. Summit attendees then voted for the best initiative in each category.